Amon Amarth reveals details for new album "Jomsviking"

Posted by AP on 25/01/16

Amon Amarth have revealed the full details for their next album, which they have christened with the title ”Jomsviking”. It will be released on March 25th, with vocalist Johan Hegg revealing that the effort is conceptual — their first record in that style. He explained:

The Jomsvikings were a shadowy and legendary sect of Viking mercenaries, as shrouded in myth now as they were when they fought across Europe and the Middle East. Ruthless and deadly warriors who fought for the highest bidder, their code was simple: Show no fear. Never retreat. Defend your brothers, and when called upon, avenge their deaths. I felt we were finally ready to use their story as the jumping off point for an Amon Amarth album.

The Jomsvikings and their world is the background for the story of a young man that is in love with a girl but unfortunately she’s being married off. He accidentally kills a man when this happens and he has to flee – but he swears to have revenge and win her back. He can’t let go of the past. He feels that he’s been wronged and his life has been destroyed. The way the story evolves is not a happy story.

The album was produced by Andy Sneap, and features some guest drumming by Vomitory’s Tobias Gustafson. You can view the artwork here, while the track listing is provided below:

01. First Kill

02. Wanderer

03. On a Sea of Blood

04. One Against All

05. Raise Your Horns

06. The Way of Vikings

07. At Dawn’s First Light

08. One Thousand Burning

09. Vengeance is My Name (digibook / digital / LP / viking ship edition bonus track)

10. A Dream That Cannot Be (feat. Doro Pesch)

11. Back on Northern Shores

You can hear the epic lead single ”First Kill” in the player below:

comments powered by Disqus


© Copyright MMXX