Sonic Syndicate to release new album in July

Posted by AP on 27/04/14

Sonic Syndicate will release a new self-titled album on the 07th of July. Here's what the band's guitarist Robin Sjunnesson was quoted as saying about it:

We decided to go with this one as a “Self-Titled” release. Mainly because as an album we have put everything we’ve got into it. All of our experience as musicians, the evolution of the music, the sound from all eras of the band, and also the road we have taken as people. This is us, this is Sonic Syndicate in all its beauty and destruction. It shows our strength, our love for melody, our scars, our energy. The cover art is a definite representation of that.

In the background, a battle-torn city laid to waste, four figures emerging together with only each other to depend on in an environment so harsh, only those with a tough heart, body and soul can survive. The tone throughout this album is definitely darker, and as my Swedish family would say “With a red-line running in the middle” so we put this into the colour-scheme. We could not be more proud of this album, and we thank our fans for the support, it’s because of them that we’re here. This album is for you.

Discussing Soilwork vocalist Björn 'Speed' Strid's cameo on one of the tracks, vocalist Nathan Biggs also added:

I’m honored to call Speed a friend. I’ve been a big Soilwork fan for years. Those guys were a massive hand in crafting that trademark Swedish sound so it made perfect sense to ask Speed when we knew we wanted to do a song with guest vocals. Performance wise I think we have similar styles and execution, but at the same time we both have our own thing going on so the voices compliment each other to great effect.

My idea was also to have a real battle between our vocals. I hate it when you have these “featuring” songs and the guest just pops up for a chorus and then does backing vocals for a while in the verse or something. This is a real fight between us for the mic and I’m sure people are gonna appreciate that.

The track listing for "Sonic Syndicate" will run, as follows:

01. "Day of the Dead"

02. "Black Hole Halo"

03. "Long Road Home"

04. "My Revenge"

05. "Before You Finally Break" (feat. Björn 'Speed' Strid)

06. "Catching Fire"

07. "Unbreakable"

08. "It Takes Me"

09. "See What I See"

10. "So Addicted"

11. "The Flame That Changed the World"

12. "Diabolical Work of Art" (limited edition bonus track)

13. "What We Shared" (limited edition bonus track)

14. "Another Soldier Down" (limited edition bonus track)

Check out the album art here.

comments powered by Disqus


© Copyright MMXX