Monster Magnet announce new album details

Posted by AP on 24/07/13

Monster Magnet will release a new album titled "Last Patrol" through Napalm Records on the 15th of October. The effort will include the following tracks:

01. “I Live Behind The Clouds”

02. “Last Patrol”

03. “Three King Fishers” (Donovan cover)

04. “Paradise”

05. “Hallelujah”

06. “Mindless Ones”

07. “The Duke (Of Supernature)”

08. “End Of Time”

09. “Stay Tuned ”

You can check out the cover art here, whilst a stream of "The Duke (Of Supernature)" can be found below:

Speaking about the album, Dave Wyndorf says:

Last Patrol is a return to our roots in terms of vibe and recording style. It’s full-on psychedelic space-rock with a 60′s garage feel, recorded almost exclusively with vintage guitars, amps and effects in our hometown of Red Bank, NJ. The songs are a kind of Space-Noir, tales of cosmic revenge, peaking libidos, alienation and epic strangeness.

It’s a weird trip through the back alleys of a dark, retro-future, which not by coincidence very much resembles my own life. (laughs) The lyrics aren’t fantasy really, rather a recounting of my musings on, observations of and general emotional reaction to my life and environment during a 1 week writing period in February of 2013.

But I tend to use the vernacular and imagery of science fiction and surrealism to express myself and that’s where these lyrics get trippy. There’s also our cover version of Donovan‘s “Three Kingfishers” which I thought fit the mood of the album.

Last Patrol was produced by Phil Caivano and myself with an effort to bring a home grown feel to the whole affair. We had been doing smaller projects out of Phil‘s “Studio 13” recording space and I really felt comfortable there so it was the natural choice on where to record the next full-scale Monster Magnet album. Phil and I grew up together and have a shared love of some very particular vintage music and styles. And everybody in the band played their asses off on this one.

comments powered by Disqus


© Copyright MMXX