Written by: AP on 30/03/2012 21:38:03

Given our proximity to the birthplace and mecca of melodic death metal, one sometimes wonders why so few Danish bands choose to pursue the genre. As such it tends to come as a surprise when a band like Invisius ventures deep into the Gothenburg sound instead of subscribing to the norm, which by domestic standards tends to be death metal or thrash, or at most a mix of the two. This second album by Invisius, entitled "Changes", sees the band up their ambitions and focus on making their music more accessible and memorable, whilst scaling back the vehemence heard on its predecessor, "The Spawn of Condemnation".

In keeping with the formula established on that album, Invisius are quick to remind us of their instrumental prowess - especially in the guitar department, as with the exception of the occasional breakdown, there is hardly a moment on "Changes" without a massive influx of harmonized dual-leads or swift staccato picking. Unfortunately the prominence of guitarists Jeppe Tobiasen and Martin Bennetzen dictates that not much attention will be payed to the drumming and bass playing of Nikolaj Fogh and Jeppe Anderson, which rarely depart from providing a rhythmic foundation into forging brilliant ideas of their own. There are exceptions, of course, as the standout character of "Tides", "Fall Apart Together" and "The Renaissance" owes as much to the diversity of their rhythm sections as to the soaring lead melodies that one is drawn to at first.

So unlike the previous effort, Invisius have at last perfected the art of writing songs with enough personality and dynamics to avoid straining the listener's patience. But sadly Invisius are not entirely consistent in this department, as during the less ambitious picks like "Reef the Sails", "This Ship Has Sunk" and "Till the Break of Day" with their promiscuous metalcore stylings, one's interest comes perilously close to trailing off. And were it not for a powerful return to form on "Point Hollow", which introduces a wonderful ambient element to the band's musical palette and gradually veers into a crescendo that truly marks cohorts Tobiasen and Bennetzen as masters of the six-string, the balladry attempted on the closing title track might have sealed the album's fate.

But although it misfires on three out of its ten songs, "Changes" is nonetheless an album on which Invisius hit their stride and declare their ambitions. It provides some 43 minutes of solid, though not groundbreaking melodic death metal as professed in Gothenburg, and given the small number of bands professing such music in Denmark, it is likely to propel Invisius into widespread prominence within the country's borders.


Download: Tides, Footprints, Fall Apart Together, The Renaissance, Point Hollow
For the fans of: Mercenary, Panacea, Solution .45, Soilwork
Listen: Facebook

Release date 16.01.2012
Gateway Music

Related Items | How we score?
comments powered by Disqus


© Copyright MMXXII